Summer Research Programs

 

Summer Research Opportunities for Undergraduate Students

Undergraduate students interested in summer research opportunities at the University of Notre Dame are invited to explore the program areas listed below. These programs provide a broad range of topics in engineering, science, business, international development, humanities, and more. Many programs offer professional development workshops and social events to enhance the research experience of students and to prepare them for the Summer Undergraduate Research Symposium where they will present their research project.

Learn Why Notre Dame

Undergraduate students who conduct research over the summer at Notre Dame get more than real world experience. They also get the opportunity to work alongside professionals in their field, like faculty and PhD students, building relationships through mentorship, social events and other interactions that can last a lifetime. See what some students have to say about their experience at Notre Dame in the following short videos:

Explore Summer Program Areas
College/Department/Center/Institute Program Area Contact Email Address
Biological Sciences Summer Research Opportunities Michelle Whaley Michelle.A.Whaley.3@nd.edu
Center for Computer Assisted Synthesis (C-CAS) Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships (SURF) Courtney Holland ccas@nd.edu 
Center for Research Computing Summer Research Opportunities Laura Kresnak  Laura.K.Kresnak.2@nd.edu
College of Science Summer Research Opportunities Xuemin (Sheryl) Lu  xlu1@nd.edu
Graduate School  Summer Research Opportunities Program (SROP) (all degree programs) John Lowery jlowery@nd.edu
Lucy Family Institute for Data & Society Summer Education and Engagement for Data Science (SEEDS) Alison Cheng ycheng@nd.edu
Notre Dame Energy Vincent P. Slatt Fellowship for Undergraduate Research in Energy Systems and Processes   Barbara Villarosa villarosa.2@nd.edu
Notre Dame International International Summer Undergraduate Research Experience (iSURE) Kailey Preston kpresto3@nd.edu
Notre Dame Nanoscience and Technology   NDnano Undergraduate Research Fellowship (NURF) Heidi Deethardt deethardt.1@nd.edu
Notre Dame Turbomachinery Laboratory NDTL Internship Program Heidi Wegner hwegner14@nd.edu
Physics and Astronomy Research Experiences for Undergraduates Kristen Amsler kamsler@nd.edu
Wireless Institute Advanced Wireless Research Experiences (AWaRE) Tiffanie Sammons tsammon1@nd.edu