Summer Research Programs

 

Summer Research Opportunities for Undergraduate Students

Undergraduate students interested in summer research opportunities at the University of Notre Dame are invited to explore the program areas listed below. These programs provide a broad range of topics in engineering, science, business, international development, humanities, and more. Many programs offer professional development and social events to enhance the students' research experience and to prepare them for the Summer Undergraduate Research Symposium. The following slideshow provides a brief overview of the students who participated in the research programs during summer 2022: 2022 Demographics.

Explore Summer Program Areas
College/Department/Center/Institute Program Area Contact Email Address
Biological Sciences Summer Research Opportunities Michelle Whaley Michelle.A.Whaley.3@nd.edu
Center for Computer Assisted Synthesis (C-CAS) Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships (SURF) Courtney Holland ccas@nd.edu 
Center for Research Computing Summer Research Opportunities Laura Kresnak  Laura.K.Kresnak.2@nd.edu
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Soft Materials for Applications in Sustainability and Healthcare (SMASH) Engineering Jessica Woolley jvelazqu@nd.edu
College of Engineering Engineering Summer Research Experience (E-SURE) Shreya Kumar shreya.kumar@nd.edu
College of Science Summer Research Opportunities Xuemin (Sheryl) Lu  xlu1@nd.edu
Graduate School  Summer Research Opportunities Program (SROP) (all degree programs) Geoffrey Carter Geoffrey.Carter.88@nd.edu
Harper Cancer Research Institute Research Cures Cancer Corp (RC3) for High School Students Angela Cavalieri cavalieri.2@nd.edu
Institute for Scholarship in the Liberal Arts Research Access and Mentoring Program (RAMP) Sevda Arslan  sarslan@nd.edu
Lucy Family Institute for Data & Society Summer Education and Engagement for Data Science (SEEDS) Alison Cheng ycheng4@nd.edu
Mendoza College of Business Fanning Center for Business Communications (undergraduate studies) Amanda McKendree amckendr@nd.edu
Naughton Fellowship Program The Graduate School's Naughton Fellowships Kaitlyn Stankiewicz kstankie@nd.edu
Notre Dame Energy Vincent P. Slatt Fellowship for Undergraduate Research in Energy Systems and Processes   Barbara Villarosa villarosa.2@nd.edu
Notre Dame International International Summer Undergraduate Research Experience (iSURE) Kailey Preston kpresto3@nd.edu
Notre Dame Nanoscience and Technology   NDnano Undergraduate Research Fellowship (NURF) Heidi Deethardt deethardt.1@nd.edu
Notre Dame Turbomachinery Laboratory NDTL Internship Program Heidi Wegner hwegner14@nd.edu
Physics and Astronomy Research Experiences for Undergraduates Kristen Amsler kamsler@nd.edu
William J. Shaw Center for Children and Families Shaw Center Summer Student Internships Jennifer Burke Lefever jburke2@nd.edu
Wireless Institute Advanced Wireless Research Experiences (AWaRE) Tiffanie Sammons tsammon1@nd.edu