2018 Poster Session

2018 Symposium Poster Awards 1

Sustainable energy was the focus of the inaugural ND Energy Research Symposium, celebrating faculty with recent early career and large-center grant awards and associated researchers for their contributions to energy-related research at Notre Dame. The roster of associated graduate students and postdoctoral scholars who presented their research projects during the poster session is below. At the conclusion of the symposium, awards were presented to the top three presenters. The winners were:

  • Nick KempfA Robust High-sensitivity Scanning Thermal Probe for Simultaneous Microscale Thermal and Thermoelectric Property Mapping (Zhang Laboratory)
  • Rebecca ScheidtModulation of Charge Recombination in CsPbBr3 Perovskite Films with Electrochemical Bias (Kamat Laboratory)
  • Brooke StempleEnhanced Ionic Liquid Tolerance of Yarrowia Lipolytica Through Evolutionary Engineering for Simultaneous Saccharification and Fermentation of Lignocellulosic Biomass (Wei Laboratory)

View Abstract Booklet for more information. 

# Researcher Project Title Advisor Department
1 Tyler Spano Comparative Investigation of Uranium Dioxide Fuel Pellets for Nuclear Forensic Applications  Antonio Simonetti  CEEES
2 John Hoffman Dual-Functionalized Nanofiltration Membranes for Water Purification William Phillip CBE
3 Trevor Demille Light Mediated Growth of Noble Metal Nanostructures on ZnO Tetrapods Svetlana Neretina AME
4 Brooke Stemple Enhanced ionic liquid tolerance of Yarrowia lipolytica through evolutionary engineering for simultaneous saccharification and fermentation of lignocellulosic biomass Na Wei CEEES
5 Tuphan Devkota Nanostructure Acoustic Mode Damping in Liquid Environments Gregory Hartland Chemistry
6 Yaofa Li Ensuring Long-Term Security of Stored CO2: Fundamental Studies of the Multiphase Flow of Water and Liquid/Supercritical CO2 in 2D Heterogeneous Porous Micromodels Kenneth T. Christensen AME
7 Rebecca Carter Rare earth element interactions with UO2 Amy Hixon CEEES
8 Mark Summe Structure-performance relationships and transport mechanisms of charge mosaic membranes William Phillip CBE
9 Randal Marks Protection of MoS2 nanosheets from dissolution by aqueous oxidants using graphitized carbon Kyle Doudrick CEEES
10 Yolanda Bonita Catalytic Applications of Bimetallic Ruthenium Molybdenum Phosphide for Selective Furfural Hydrogenation Jason Hicks CBE
11 Felipe Tagle A Multi-Level Skew-t Stochastic Generator for Assessing High-Resolution Wind Energy Resources in Saudi Arabia Stefano Castruccio ACMS
12 Samuel N. Perry Thermodynamics and structural complexity of sodium uranyl sulfate minerals with unusual structural topologies Peter Burns CEEES
13 Nick Kempf A robust high-sensitivity scanning thermal probe for simultaneous microscale thermal and thermoelectric property mapping Yanliang Zhang AME
14 Andrew Schranck An investigation of the effect of urine compounds on electrochemical oxidation of urea using a nanostructured nickel cobaltite catalyst Kyle Doudrick CEEES
15 Feng Gao Charge Patterning Affects Ion Transport Through Charge-Mosaic Membranes William Phillip CBE
16 Corinne Dorais Development of a new uraninite reference material for nuclear forensic analysis at high spatial resolution Antonio Simonetti/Amy Hixon CEEES
17 Suzanne M. Neidhart Morphology Dependence of Thermal Conductance in Gold Nanoparticle Systems J.D. Gezelter Chemistry
18 Yunsong Pang Functionalized Graphene Enables Highly Efficient Solar Thermal Steam Generation Tengfei Luo AME
19 Sarah Hickam Dissolution of uranium dioxide in uranyl peroxide cluster-forming conditions Peter Burns CEEES
20 Hansheng Ye Investigation of the Effect of Growth Temperature on Deep Levels in GaAs for Photovoltaics Patrick Fay EE
21 Tanner Corrado Synthesis and characterization of new polysulfones containing bulky bridging moieties for gas separation membranes Ruilan Guo CBE
22 Rebecca Scheidt  Modulation of Charge Recombination in CsPbBr3 Perovskite Films with Electrochemical Bias  Prashant Kamat Chemistry
23 Hanyu Ma DFT and Microkinetic Comparison of Pt, Pd and Rh(111) for Catalytic Ammonia Oxidation William Schneider CBE
24 Haylie Lobeck Transformation of Uranyl Phosphate and Arsenate Minerals to Soluble Nanoscale Cage Clusters Peter Burns CEEES