AUC Undergraduate

Julian Pilate Hutcherson

The Vincent P. Slatt Fellowship for Undergraduate Research in Energy Systems and Processes provides an opportunity for undergraduate students affiliated with the Atlanta University Center (AUC) Consortium to conduct energy-related research with ND Energy affiliated faculty during the summer at the University of Notre Dame. Students will participate in cutting-edge research programs, as well as professional development and social activities on the beautiful campus of Notre Dame.  

Approximately 3 awards of $5,000 per student are made annually to AUC students. Awards are paid to the student as a stipend and may be used to assist with travel, housing, meals, and other related expenses while on campus. The Slatt summer research experience is a 10-week program typically beginning the third week of May and running through July. Students who are currently sophomores and juniors may apply.    

Important Dates for 2019 Awards
  • Applications accepted October 1-31, 2018
  • Notifications made by November 30, 2018
  • Awards made in Summer 2019
  • Program dates are May 20 to July 26, 2019
  • Students will present their research during a poster session in July 2019
  • Students will submit a final report to ND Energy in August 2019

Students submitting an online application will include the following information:

  • Summary of Academic Achievements
  • Brief Description of Previous Research Experience
  • Brief Summary of Career Objectives
  • Areas of Interest in Energy Research
  • Brief Essay on a Topic in Energy
  • Recommendation Letter from Faculty Advisor or Mentor

For more information, contact Barbara Villarosa at 574-631-4776 or

Since 2012, Slatt Fellowships for AUC students have been made possible through the generosity of Christopher ('80) and Jeanine Slatt in honor of Vincent P. Slatt, Notre Dame Class of 1943. 

The AUC is the world’s largest consortium of African American private institutions of higher education, designed to channel intellectual resources to the advancement of minority, economically disadvantaged, and under-served communities. Members of the consortium are Clark Atlanta University, Morehouse College, and Spelman College.