Two CBE professors named 2020 ACS PSME Young Investigators

Schaefer Webber

Jennifer L. Schaefer and Matthew J. Webber have been named 2020 Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering (PMSE) Young Investigators by the PSME Division of the American Chemical Society (ACS).

The award honors early-career emerging leaders in academia, industry, and national laboratories who have made significant contributions to their respective fields within polymer materials science and engineering. 

Schaefer, assistant professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering and affiliated with ND Energy and the Hypersonic Systems Initiative, researches ion transport and interfacial phenomena. Her team works on novel polymer materials for advanced electrochemical energy storage and generation devices that have potential for improved safety, sustainability, and reduced size or weight.

Webber, assistant professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering and affiliated with Advanced Diagnostics and Therapeutics and NDnano, works on supramolecular soft materials to create new biomaterials and drug delivery devices. Taking inspiration from the living world, his research team uses these materials in pursuit of solutions to pressing problems in healthcare, such as diabetes.

Schaefer and Webber will present technical talks describing their most recent research at the PMSE Young Investigator Symposium during the ACS Fall 2020 Virtual Meeting & Expo in August.