Center for Sustainable Energy at Notre Dame

Events

New 2015 Webinar Series: Mastering the Art of Scientific Publication

Wed Mar 4, 2015 11:00AM - 12:00PM • Calendars: Homepage

_eb3ff554_1af1_423a_a90e_927624eeffcc_acs_pubs_logo

_fea33d64_c885_4c74_8441_1d54b39e6dbc_master_art_pub_animated_email_header_2

If great research happens, but no one reads the results, does it make an impact? 
The competitive nature of scientific publishing is impossible to ignore. That’s why it is vital for new researchers to gain the skills to increase their manuscripts' chances of success.

ACS Publications presents "Mastering the Art of Scientific Publication: The Webinar Series."
In the first two webinars of the series, Professor Prashant Kamat, Deputy Editor of The Journal of Physical Chemistry , and Professor Jillian Buriak, Editor-in-Chief of Chemistry of Materials, will present tips on effective manuscript preparation, from creating a figure-based outline, to testing your ToC graphics, to why the experimental section is the key to the longevity of your research. Don't miss this opportunity to gain helpful insight from the Editors of some of most highly cited, highest impact ACS journals.

Registration is free! 

View the schedule and register today to save the dates. 

_6e314075_84c6_4560_a148_2197fc70f76d_prashant_kamat_for_email

Mastering the Art of Scientific Publication - Preparing Your Manuscript: Part 1

Feb. 11, 2015 at 8:00 am PST / 9:00 am MST / 11:00 am EST / 16:00 GMT

Key Learning Objectives for Part 1 

  • Getting ready and creating a figure-based outline
  • Identifying key points of the research theme
  • Tips to compose an attractive title
  • Writing an effective abstract
  • Telling a scientific story with your own compelling thoughts

Mastering the Art of Scientific Publication - Preparing Your Manuscript: Part 2

_5c9f0062_7c60_4386_8efd_de8d45c6bbbf_jillian_buriak_for_emailgif

Mar 4, 2015 at 8:00 am PST / 9:00 am MST / 11:00 am EST / 16:00 GMT

Key Learning Objectives for Part 2: 

  • Four tests for your ToC image
  • Maximizing the longevity of your research
  • Common graphical errors and how to correct them
  • How to decide what citations to include

View Upcoming Events

Subscribe to iCal

A Strategic Research Initiative. What is SRI?