Center for Sustainable Energy at Notre Dame

2012 Slatt Scholars

Student/Department Advisor/ College Project Title
Chris Andrews
Chemical Engineering
Peter Burns
College of Engineering
"The Use of RAMAN Spectroscopic Techniques to Understand the Synthesis of Various Uranyl Peroxide Nanoclusters and to Develop Mechanisms for Such Reactions"
Matthew Charnley
Chemical Engineering
Joan Brennecke
College of Engineering
"The Use of Ionic Liquids as Entrainers in Extractive Distillation"
Nhu Suong Do
Math/Electrical Engineering
Susan Fullerton
College of Engineering
"The Influence of Nanofiller Shape and Chemical Identity on the Conductivity and Thermal Properties of Solid Polymer Electrolytes for Rechargeable Lithium-ion Batteries"
Gregory Goodman
Chemical Engineering
Peter Kilpatrick
College of Engineering
"Isolation and Molecular Characterization of Interfacially Bound Material in Stable Water-in-Petroleum Emulsions"    
Carolyn Keefe
Kenneth Henderson
College of Science
"Novel s-block Amido Catalysts for the Preparation of Alternating Copolymer Polycarbonates" 
Blake Lantero
Mechanical Engineering
Peter Bauer
College of Engineering
"On Fuel Economy Bounds"  
Charlie Magiera
Chemical Engineering
Abhijit Biswas
College of Engineering
"Conversion of Carbon Dioxide into Liquid Fuels and Other Commodities" 
Daniel Rish
Civil Engineering
Tengfei Luo
College of Engineering
"Low Temperature Membrane Free Water Desalination"
Timothy Siegler
Chemical Engineering
Prashant Kamat
College of Engineering
"Graphene-Based Enhancements in Counter Electrode Material for Lithium Ion Storage Batteries"

Many of the 2012 Slatt Scholars presented their research at the 2013 Undergraduate Research Symposium on May 3, 2013. A copy of their abstracts are provided here.