Center for Sustainable Energy at Notre Dame

Student Energy Board

The ND Energy Student Energy Board (SEB) is a diverse group of undergraduate and graduate students at the University of Notre Dame who understands the importance of raising awareness and increasing the knowledge and understanding of key energy issues and topics in order to create a more sustainable energy future for all. SEB is not a club. It is a student group within the center that supports ND Energy’s goal to provide energy-related education and outreach throughout the Notre Dame and surrounding communities. There are many opportunities for leadership and personal development as a SEB member.
 

2017 Student Energy Board Core Leaders

Name Email Year Major area of study and second major or minor
Alex Baumann abauman1@nd.edu  

Sophomore

Accountancy and ACMS, Energy Studies minor
Emily Black eblack4@nd.edu

Freshman

Environmental Engineering, Potential Energy Studies Minor
Justin Blake jblake3@nd.edu Sophomore Chemical Engineering
Matthew Chamberlain mchambe3@nd.edu   Sophomore Chemical Engineering, Energy Studies Minor
Marion Delaney Mdelane5@nd.edu Sophomore Earth Sciences
Allie Hidalgo ahidalg3@nd.edu Sophomore Undecided Business and Peace Studies
John Higham jhigham@nd.edu Junior Chemical Engineering, Energy Studies, Biomolecular Engineering Concentration
Christopher Hume chume@nd.edu Junior Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Engineering Corporate Practice
Patricia Kay pkay@nd.edu Senior Chemical Engineering, Energy Studies
MacKenna Kelleher mkelleh2@nd.edu Junior Sustainability
Erika Kim ekim18@nd.edu Freshman Mechanical Engineering
Ellen Londergan elonderg@nd.edu Junior Mechanical Engineering (Concentration in Energy)
Stephen Muldoon smuldoo1@nd.edu Junior Finance, Innovation & Entrepreneurship
Kaitlin Powers Kpowers3@nd.edu Sophomore Enviromental Science and Political Science
Natalie Rivas nrivas1@nd.edu Freshman Chemical Engineering
Tansy Wang twang8@nd.edu Sophomore Electrical Engineering
Kevin Weaver kweaver5@nd.edu Junior Chemical Engineering
Yilong "Ray" Yang yyang7@nd.edu Junior Physics, Economics
         

SEB Roles and Responsibilities
Board members serve a one-year term from January through December. Seniors serve an abbreviated term from January to May. Board members are selected to serve in various leadership roles and meet as needed to perform the following functions in support of the ND Energy mission:

  • Plan, organize, and execute energy-related education and outreach programs, including the annual Notre Dame Energy Week, Science Alive, and our partnership with Madison Primary Center in South Bend.
  • Suggest speakers and energy-related topics for seminars, lectures, and conferences. 
  • Collaborate with and participate in other student clubs, groups, and organizations to develop energy-related education and outreach programs for the Notre Dame and surrounding communities.
  • Aid in publicizing education and outreach events, research initiatives, and other ND Energy activities to the Notre Dame and surrounding communities through social media, marketing, and advertisements.

For more information about board membership, please contact Anne Berges Pillai at 574-631-9106 or apillai@nd.edu.

Past Board Members:
Directory of 2016 members
Directory of 2015 members
Directory of 2014 members
Directory of 2013 members
Directory of 2012 members
Directory of 2011 members
Directory of 2010 members
Directory of 2009 members
Directory of 2008 members
Directory of 2007 members